COLUMBUS, OH – FEBRUARY 7: An NHL linesman holds a puck prior to a face-off during a game between the Columbus Blue Jackets and the Carolina Hurricanes on February 7, 2021 at Nationwide Arena in Columbus, Ohio. (Photo by Jamie Sabau/NHLI via Getty Images) *** Local Caption ***

The Instigator |Episode 50

Goal Counts/Penalty Removed—What?

Listen to “The Instigator – Episode 50 – Goal Counts/Penalty Removed—What?” on Spreaker.
[pb_vidembed title=”” caption=”” url=”” type=”yt” w=”480″ h=”385″]

Late in the second period, the Columbus Blue Jackets challenged a goal by Hurricanes forward Vincent Trocheck. They believed the play to be offside.  After a review, the goal was allowed to stand, and the Jackets went on the penalty kill because the challenge was unsuccessful.

The replay showed Trocheck clearly in the zone ahead of the puck seconds before the goal was scored.  The league never actually upheld the “good goal” ruling. They were still in the process of reviewing the play when the wrong information was passed along to NHL referee Ghislain Hebert, who then announced that the goal would stand.

The league went on to remove what was left of the penalty, but allowed the goal to stand.

[pb_vidembed title=”” caption=”” url=”” type=”yt” w=”480″ h=”385″]