USAToday Sports Images


Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets, Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals and Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens are the three finalists for the 2016-17 Vezina Trophy, which is awarded “to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position,” the National Hockey League announced today.

The general managers of the NHL’s clubs submitted ballots for the Vezina Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 21, during the 2017 NHL Awards at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

Following are the finalists for the Vezina Trophy, in alphabetical order:

Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets

Bobrovsky led the NHL with a 2.06 goals-against average and .931 save percentage to guide the Blue Jackets to their best season in club history. He also ranked in the top five in the League in wins (3rd; 41), shutouts (t-3rd; 7), saves (4th; 1,727) and starts (t-5th; 63). Bobrovsky established a career high and franchise record for victories in one season (41), shattering the mark set by Steve Mason in 2008-09 (33). He also posted career highs and franchise records with a 14-game win streak (Nov. 29 – Jan. 3) and 16-game point streak (15-0-1; Nov. 25 –
Jan. 3). The 28-year-old Novokuznetsk, Russia, native is a Vezina Trophy finalist for the second time; he captured the award with Columbus in 2012-13.

Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals

Holtby – the reigning Vezina Trophy winner – shared the League lead with 42 wins and paced the NHL with nine shutouts, matching a career high set in 2014-15. He also ranked in the top five in goals-against average (2nd; 2.07), save percentage (4th; .925) and starts (t-5th; 63) to backstop the Capitals to the William M. Jennings Trophy as well as their second consecutive Presidents’ Trophy. Holtby became the third goaltender in League history to record three straight 40-win seasons, joining Martin Brodeur (2005-06 through 2007-08) and Evgeni Nabokov (2007-08 through 2009-10). The 27-year-old Lloydminster, Sask., native is vying to become the first repeat Vezina Trophy winner since Brodeur in 2006-07 and 2007-08.

Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens

One season after playing in only 12 games due to injury, Price returned to make 62 starts and share fifth place in the NHL with 37 wins. He also ranked in the top 10 in time on ice (5th; 3,708:08), goals-against average (6th; 2.23), saves (7th; 1,656) and save percentage (9th; .923). Price opened the season in record-setting fashion, becoming the first goaltender in League history to win each of his first 10 appearances (Oct. 20 – Nov. 12). He later moved into third place on the Canadiens’ all-time wins list (270), behind only Jacques Plante (314) and Patrick Roy (289). The 29-year-old Anahim Lake, B.C., native is looking to capture his second Vezina Trophy after winning the award in 2014-15, his only other time as a finalist.


Leo Dandurand, Louis Letourneau and Joe Cattarinich, former owners of the Montreal Canadiens, presented the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1926-27 in memory of Georges Vezina, the outstanding Canadiens goaltender who collapsed during an NHL game on Nov. 28, 1925, and died of tuberculosis a few months later. Until the 1981-82 season, the goaltender(s) of the team allowing the fewest number of goals during the regular season were awarded the Vezina Trophy.

Announcement Schedule

The three finalists for NHL Trophies are being announced by NBC Sports in the United States and Sportsnet/TVA Sports in Canada during pregame programming for the Stanley Cup Playoffs through Tuesday, May 2. The series of announcements continues on Sunday, April 23, when the three finalists for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy will be unveiled.

* Information provided via NHL Press Release
National Hockey League Press Release. Information provided from the NHL that describes various news releases that describe current events in the league.

Leave a Reply