Jan 24, 2018; Chicago, IL, USA; The Chicago Blackhawks score against the Toronto Maple Leafs during the third period at United Center. Mandatory Credit: David Banks-USA TODAY Sports

The Toronto Maple Leafs have been at the center of some very confusing and interesting call by officials this week.  On Monday, Austin Matthews was robbed of a goal because of goaltender interference.  Was it interference per the rules?  Many disagreed with the call, and then the controversy exploded more when on Wednesday night the Maple Leafs were victimized by the rule again.  The Chicago Blackhawks scored a third period goal with a player laying on the back of goaltender Frederik Anderson.  To the shock of Leafs coaching staff and players the goal counted.  This one looked clearly like goaltender interference, but counted.  I am confused?????

NO GOAL

GOAL

THE RULEBOOK

Still Confused?

Leave a Reply