The Colorado Avalanche and Ottawa Senators are set to face off in the 2017 SAP NHL Global Series™, a pair of regular-season games in Stockholm, Sweden, on Friday, Nov. 10, and Saturday, Nov. 11 at the Ericsson Globe. The 2017 SAP NHL Global Series™ will mark the fifth time the NHL® has traveled to Europe to play regular-season games and the first such time since the 2011 Compuware NHL Premiere™, which took place in Berlin, Germany; Helsinki, Finland; and Stockholm, Sweden. These games reward the legion of loyal and passionate international fans by featuring some of the NHL’s biggest stars and generating interest in the League worldwide. The games between Colorado and Ottawa on Nov. 10 and Nov. 11 will be the 21st and 22nd NHL® regular-season games played in Europe. They also will be the ninth and tenth NHL regular-season games played in Sweden.

The game on Nov. 10 will start at 8 p.m. CET/2 p.m. ET/Noon MT, with Colorado serving as the home team (TV3, Viasat Hockey and Viaplay; TSN5 and RDS in Canada; NHL Network™ and Altitude in the U.S.). The game on Nov. 11 will start at 7 p.m. CET/1 p.m. ET/11 a.m. MT with Ottawa serving as the home team (TV3, Viasat Hockey and Viaplay; Sportsnet and RDS in Canada; NHL Network and Altitude in the U.S.).

The NHL is a global League, with approximately 26 percent of NHL players this season having been born outside of North America. Senators captain and Landsbro, Sweden, native Erik Karlsson as well as Avalanche captain and Stockholm, Sweden, native Gabriel Landeskog will be playing in their home country for the first time as NHL players. Other Swedes currently playing for the two clubs include Ottawa’s Frederik Claesson (Stockholm) and Johnny Oduya (Stockholm), and Colorado’s Anton Lindholm (Skelleftea), Carl Soderberg (Malmo) and Patrik Nemeth(Stockholm).

Ottawa was one of four NHL teams that traveled to Europe to play in the Bridgestone NHL Premiere™ 2008. In two games to open their regular season in Stockholm, the Senators traded victories with the Pittsburgh Penguins at the Ericsson Globe. The Senators roster at that time included two members of its current front office, Chris Phillips and Shean Donovan, who registered Ottawa’s first-ever goal in Sweden on Oct. 4, 2008.

Colorado is making its second trip to Europe and its international regular-season debut. The Avalanche were part of the 2001 NHL Challenge Series™, and as defending Stanley Cup® champions defeated Brynas IF of the Swedish Elite League by a score of 5-3 thanks to Alex Tanguay’s hat trick. Erik Johnson is the only player on the Avalanche’s current roster to have played in an NHL regular-season game overseas (2009 Compuware NHL Premiere™ in Stockholm as a member of the St. Louis Blues).

Below is a timeline of the NHL’s history in Sweden. For a complete overseas history of the NHL, go to https://www.nhl.com/news/history-of-international-nhl-games/c-559166.

* Information provided via NHL Press Release
National Hockey League Press Release. Information provided from the NHL that describes various news releases that describe current events in the league.

Leave a Reply